Timelessness

Coming to the end of a degree is a peculiar thing, especially when that degree was/is in the written/spoken/otherwise-communicated word. Excessive use of punctuation/forward-slashes seems to be a side effect.

Despite spending most of my time whilst studying for my degree in procrastinatory activity, the days are now left with a curious lack of overbearing necessity. In the final month that I’m staying the the town where I studied, I’m working retail a fair amount and have arranged myself some placements to help with my plans for next year. There are also some recreational plans hanging in the air above us all, but I am somewhat concerned that we’re unlikely to achieve all we desire.

The most curious offshoot is the free time to read whatever books I feel like. Thus, I’ve read a couple of books I’ve been meaning to read for a vast time (especially Marc D. Giller’s Prodigal, sequel to the fantastic Hammerjack, and the second best contemporary cyberpunk author I have read {after Richard Morgan of Altered Carbon fame}). [This parenthesis appears somewhat unnecessary in punctuation. Apoligies, ed.] However, some of the books I’ve now been most tempted to read have been offshoots of my course that I’ve just not read whilst studying for it.

I want to read Chaucer’s full Canterbury Tales in the original.

I want to finish reading Joyce’s Ulysses.

My girlfriend wants to read the Bible.

At the moment though, I am more than happy enjoying my first foray into Michael Marshall (Smith)’s non-sci-fi and am reading The Straw Men. I am enjoying it thoroughly, for the same reasons that I loved his sci-fi. The prose is fluent, self-concious and witty, but Marshall/(Smith) manages to write with a fantastic gravitas. His characters might be in poor situations, but they’re still full enough to be able to find the humour in their take on the situations.

Great stuff.

Timelessness

One thought on “Timelessness

  1. It’s quite incredible how one suddenly feels the need to be productive only when we’re given copious amounts of free time. Best of luck on your reading exploits. I’m going to try learning the geetar. Honest!

Leave a Reply

