Anticipation… Over?

As I wrote yesterday, I have been waiting eagerly for my copies of the new Nightjar chapbooks since the weekend. Today at lunch, I went to my pigeon hole, and what did I find there?

image

I let the moment wait a while as I secured myself a comfortable chair and a drink. Then I opened the envelope.

image

The books themselves are beautiful and well presented. My copy of Field is numbered 180 of 200, and my copy of Lexicon is numbered 43 of 200. I wonder if they are disseminated in number order.

So now, the major anticipation is over. The minor anticipation remains – to actually read them. (Or am I really most looking forward to reading them over having recieved them? I am not sure.)

I shall let you know what I think.

Anticipation… Over?

2 thoughts on “Anticipation… Over?

  1. I love this 🙂 I recently ordered a back copy of McSweeneys to be delivered to me at work and the whole process- the anticipation, the recieving, and the reading- was super exciting. I hope you enjoy them 🙂

    (On a slightly unrelated note, leaving this comment made me attempt to find the print run of the quarterly and I came across the following: “McSweeney’s Quarterly is deliciously tactile”. New favourite phrase ever? I think so.

  2. archaism says:

    Delicious tactility is definitely something I shall have to explore further!

    There’s something great, though, about waiting in this culture of instant gratification. It’s why I quite enjoy queueing.

Leave a Reply

