Suspenders of Disbelief +1*

Earlier, I was walking home** and got to thinking about the future, and what I want to do / be – a medieval folklorist.*** I began thinking about the interview process, and perhaps being asked what my areas of interest were (folklore) and about how I justify them (within society, rather than as interests).

“Folklore shows the fears of society – its folklore is a reflection of that which concerns it. A society can use the freedoms of fantastical logic to express its fears and desires.”****

“And do you believe in it? Could the folklore be true?”

“I’m not sure, but I like to think that it could be.”

In reality, this is the truth. I am analytic in my opinion of folklore, but I don’t want to be presumptuous in assuming it is false. Indeed, we cannot be sure, and if I’m honest I like the romance of it all.

But my lack of disbelief also belies my desire to avoid hypocrisy within the realm of my magic.

I cannot choose not to believe in something while expecting my audience to accept it.

And perhaps my very performance creates its reality.

* This is my favourite song about suspenders, magical or else.

** Well, my Camden-based home-from-home.

*** Bit like a florist, really.

**** Also my justification for genre fiction and its importance.

image

Suspenders of Disbelief +1*

2 thoughts on “Suspenders of Disbelief +1*

Leave a Reply

