The Continued Adventures of the Hob-bled Man

It’s been too long, and for that I apologise…*

For the past two weeks, intermittently and seemingly without apparent cause greater than a life-simulation game, the ceiling in my kitchen has been leaking. Mostly on a Sunday, if I analyse it statistically, which suggests that perhaps its the effluence of a forgotten water deity who abhors liturgy and the sacrament of the Sabbath.

These adventures begin, however, on Tuesday evening, when I returned to my London apartments to the sound of a mysterious clicking noise; which now turns out to be my hob-ignition spark continually earthing. As I can’t be sure that the hob isn’t live at any point, it’s probably best that I don’t use it lest I incur the wrath of an anachronistic Zeus. Unfortunately, the oven’s electric supply is isolated on the same switch as the hob – essentially, I cannot use either particularly safely.

Last night, I visited Justin Hawkins’ (of the Darkness) favourite Indian restaurant which was not unlike almost any other Indian I’ve ever been to.

This evening was much more noteworthy: I visited Chop Chop Noodle Bar opposite King’s Cross station. When I was seated, I was given a sheet of paper with a number of boxes that I had to fill in with a pen (which I was also given, and looks as if it had been stolen from Argos but dipped in a tin of red paint) detailing the nature of my order. The food came quickly – I ordered Hot and Sour Soup and a Malay dish that I can’t remember the name of at the moment, but contained flat egg noodles and a wide menagerie of meats and succulent Prawns Rex. The food was very tasty (in fact, I can still taste it now, several beers later), filling without being heavy, and reasonably priced. I would recommend anybody with a taste for noodles of any variety to scout this place out.

On my way back home, I wandered into a bar called Simmons that I’ve been meaning to try for a good long while. It was worth it. There’ll be more comment on it in the future.

* I also apologise for the overly obverse nature of much of this entry’s vocabulary.

The Continued Adventures of the Hob-bled Man

Leave a Reply

