Giver of Advice

One of my favourite statements about advice comes, misquoted through my parents, from this song. (Admittedly, it’s likely to come from further in the past, but I was advised to avoid digging that deep.)

“Do as I say, don’t do as I do.”

Those of you who know me well will know that I’m a chronic overthinker. What’s potentially most concerning with the entire thing is that my overthinking goes through multiple iterations, and gets truly worrying when I worry about the fact that I am worried about worrying about things.

In a distinct number of areas of my life at the moment, however, I am looking to avoid this.

It’s largely working.

That said, my overthinking had led to some deepened relationships with friends who can bear to listen to my listless overcomplication of minutiae (which can come down even to analysis of otherwise arbitrary seating orders), who I suppose think in similar ways themselves. As such, I am often on the receiving end of similar overthinkings from these people – and being the helpful and wonderful person that I am, I will listen/read carefully and attempt to give sympathetic and suitable advice.

What’s odd, though, is that I’ve noticed that the same advice clearly applies to my life too.

Still, now I can’t tell if I’m only happy to listen to other people’s overthinking with the surreptitious aim of actually advising myself and that what appears to be polite reciprocation is actually highly selfish of me.

And for some reason, I can’t just summon the advice directly to myself.

Giver of Advice

Leave a Reply

