Constituents of R’lyeh

It all started when Grant Howitt shared some of his slides on games design.

Of course, I had to pick the silliest two-word combination I could, and so I came up with a concept of politics plus Cthulhu. The strapline “Azathoth has won the by-election” was soon to follow.

Thus, I present to you CONSTITUENTS OF R’LYEH.

The gameplay is largely about interacting with public opinion, and in the normal way of public opinion it is constantly malleable. To be fair, the elements of the Cthulhu mythos are largely set-dressing aside from the STRENGTH OF MIND stat – in a future, deeper version I’d like to more thoroughly implement madness and the elder gods.

I’ve been toying with the concept of diceless systems since I attended the latest London Playing and Playtesting meetup, though the fact that politics is saturated with decisions meant that I was loathe to introduce the overt randomnity of dice-rolling into it. I hope to test this system at the next event, but please have a look and feel free to run the system yourself.

Constituents of R’lyeh

Leave a Reply

