Games for free: CLINGFILM NOIR & ETHERED TAPE

I’ve not said much recently on my longer term projects.

(As an aside, my novel is getting closer to completion. It’s not around 56k handwritten & I imagine it’ll bottom out at 70k. I’ve recently had to write the first proper realisation of the utter horror, and it was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to write. I had to go and sit down for a while afterwards.)

Recently I finally finished the rules for CLINGFILM NOIR – a hardboiled storytelling game that’s a mix between exquisite corpse & gamebooks.

Trouble didn't call anymore. Trouble just turned up on my doorstep and mooched off my cigarettes.
Trouble didn’t call anymore. Trouble just turned up on my doorstep and mooched off my cigarettes.

If you’re interested in a copy of CLINGFILM NOIR, throw an email to SEAN at BOOKSEANSMITH dot CO dot UK & I’ll get a copy back to you asap.

The other game I’ve on offer is in very early stages yet. It’s called ETHERED TAPE and is a game where you play either a BADASS OUTLAW WIZARD trying to escape the city or the STUFFY BUREACRATS set out to trap them. It’s based off of the old hunt game, Hare & Hounds (or the French Military Game), played on a grid of shuffled magical powers.

Hare & Hounds setup
Image taken from http://www.cyningstan.com/game/150/hare-hounds where full rules can be found for Hare & Hounds

I’m writing up the how-to-make-your-own set at the moment. If you’re interested in taking a look, please say so in the comments.

Games for free: CLINGFILM NOIR & ETHERED TAPE

Leave a Reply

